Where did you go?

Well friends it’s been a while since I stopped here. I took a summer job that swallowed me and my summer with it. I can’t complain because the money was good and I learned a lot. But I’m glad to be returning to my regular life and family as things return to their normal state of hectic.

So my plans of grandeur for my garden and little projects I had lined up all withered both literally and figuratively.

But ……..

I have the FALL. And that is my FAVORITE time of year!

For some reason I’m taking a shine to the color orange. That has never been a favorite color of mine. But lately I’ve been drawn to it and will be adding it to my palate in September.

Well now when we left off in May I was planting seedlings with much anticipation of fabulousness.

Now without further ado, let’s take a tour of the Little Gothic Cottage Garden.

The good, the bad ,and the ugly epic fail.

Blue morning glories.

Blue morning glories. Yay!

Pink morning glories. Ahhh!

Pink morning glories. Ahhh!

One of 2 sunflowers. The other one has yet to bloom but is in the bud. Ooooh I like it!

One of 2 sunflowers. The other one has yet to bloom but is in the bud. Ooooh I like it!

Remember my one and only moon flower? Well it made it! You really can't fully appreciate these in the light of day. But in the evening they are alluring and their fragrance is divine.

Remember my one and only moon flower? Well it made it! You really can’t fully appreciate these in the light of day. But in the evening they are alluring and their fragrance is divine.

Bad Kitty my garden companion photo bomb cameo. Anyway in spite of the lovely flowers the foliage is mot so thick and fabulouso as expected.

Bad Kitty my garden companion photo bomb cameo. Anyway in spite of the lovely flowers the foliage is mot so thick and fabulouso as expected.

The other side of the arbor where the clematis grows....hmmm. Thinking there's just not enough Sun for morning glories to thrive. Fail.

The other side of the arbor where the clematis grows….hmmm. Thinking there’s just not enough Sun for morning glories to thrive. Fail.

Washed out planters. Epic fail early on with the crazy rains in the beginning of summer. Sigh.

Washed out planters. Epic fail early on with the crazy rains in the beginning of summer. Sigh.

Well now, I think it’s important for my friends to see how things turned out. Surely there’s a learning curve here. Even though I have gardened for years, there’s just no predicting how things will turn out. When you don’t have time to fuss only the strong will survive. Such is the case here.

But let’s see some other things that grow and thrive here…..

Well now Miss Christmas Cactus is quite happy here in here spot on the porch.

Well now Miss Christmas Cactus is quite happy here in her spot on the porch.

And how about these air plants that I stick outside in my boxwood every summer? Huh! Doing quite nicely.

And how about these air plants that I stick outside in my boxwood every summer? Huh! Doing quite nicely.

Now if weeds and wild things are to be appreciated….I happen to like some of them, thank you very much.

I don't know what these are but they grow prolificly on the back side of the pond. I happen to like their little blue flowers so I leave them alone.

I don’t know what these are but they grow prolificly on the back side of the pond. I happen to like their little blue flowers so I leave them alone.

Moss and ferns that grow wild here under my cherry tree. They are a welcome and unexpected guest that turned up a few years back. Makes me happy.

Moss and ferns that grow wild here under my cherry tree. They are a welcome and unexpected guest that turned up a few years back. Makes me happy.

Can you see these tiny wild white morning glories. Well the bees like them....So do the butterflies. That means I like them too and they can stay.

Can you see these tiny wild white morning glories. Well the bees like them….So do the butterflies. That means I like them too and they can stay.

No one ever sets up a nest in this bird house.

No one ever sets up a nest in this bird house.

But this one.....

But this one…..

And this one have been quite busy with my darling house wrens. Did I mention they are my favorite song bird?

And this one have been quite busy with my darling house wrens. Did I mention they are my favorite song bird?

My pond is a constant source of joy....now that I no longer have fish in it.No work- all pleasure with its tranquil water sounds. It's relaxing to hear sitting on the porch day or nite.

My pond is a constant source of joy….now that I no longer have fish in it.No work- all pleasure with its tranquil water sounds. It’s relaxing to hear sitting on the porch day or nite. No I didn’t plant those ferns either.

Well, Bad Kitty, what do you think? I'm thinking we have much to be grateful for. You look a little tired from all this garden walking. Time for a nap?

Well, Bad Kitty, what do you think? I’m thinking we have much to be grateful for. You look a little tired from all this garden walking. Time for a nap?

So there you have it. Another summer draws to a close. Usually things start to peter out this time of year anyway in the garden. I’m looking forward to decorating and planting for fall.

I miss my sweaters and boots. I miss warm Apple knockers and crisp fresh air.

Oh, what’s an Apple Knocker?

Hmmmm……that’s for another post.

Hope you had a fabulous summer! Glad to be back!

Leave a Reply

