Lovely Lilac

Many moons ago when I moved here, the grounds were a mess. The people who were here before were not much into gardening. There were some ornamental trees. A little man made pond that was pea green with a fake fish in it…you couldn’t see it till I drained out the nasty water. Trash all over…..like old refrigerator and a collapsed trailer and just anything you could think of in the way of trash. There were some plants…..some I’m still trying to be rid of.

The hub loaded the trash on his utility trailer and dumped it all in one corner. Then rented a dumpster…..a big one. He called all his friends and invited them over for a dumpster loading party. With about 20 men it didn’t take them long to get that dumpster filled. The beer was  flowing and I was working that BBQ just pumping out the food. I can feed a crowd…..nothin’ fancy just some down home good eats. No frozen flap Jack burgers coming outta my kitchen. I hate ’em!  You want men to work for free? Gotta feed ’em goood!

Well once that was done we had a clean pallet to work with.

The gardening was not the hub’ s thing. Not even a little bit.

But I had visions!

My hub is a wise man. He stands back and let’s me loose and stays outta the way when I’m on a mission. And was I ever on a mission cuz I hated this yard!

I wish you could smell these.

I wish you could smell these.

During this evolution I stopped by to see my dear Aunt Lorraine….God rest her soul. She’s gone now but during her life she had farmed. She had green houses and a small nursery business going. So I popped by to give her some business and visit.I bought a few things and she gave away a few things as was her way. She was pleased to help me on my mission and teach me a thing or two.

One of my purchases was a pretty Azelia with salmon color flowers….still going strong 18 years later. The other thing was a Dwarf Lilac.

Azelia from my Aunt's nursery. I love this salmon color. I don't see many like it.

Azelia from my Aunt’s nursery. I love this salmon color. I don’t see many like it.

You see, one of my visions was to have a lilac bush close to my bedroom window so when it bloomed I could have the scent come into my home.

I could get lost in these - there's so many blooms.

I could get lost in these – there’s so many blooms.

All these years later I can’t really say that this lilac is a Dwarf. At least not in the sense I thought of. The bush is less stalky and well…more bushy and full. The flowers are smaller but the bush is covered in full bloom from top to bottom. My Aunt Lorraine knew her stuff!

I didn't know it would grow so big! But I have blessed shade on my porch because of it.

I didn’t know it would grow so big! But I have blessed shade on my porch because of it.

I LOVE this bush! It is massive and has grown all the way to the roof of my front porch.

And just as I envisioned the intoxicating scent of Lilac wafts into not just my room but my whole home. It’s a gift. I look forward to it every year.

No air freshener can duplicate this intoxicating scent!

No air freshener can duplicate this intoxicating scent!

I hope you have lovely lilacs in your garden too.

Enjoy them while they last!

Leave a Reply

