Ooooh! Look what I found!

Driving down the road one day just mindin’ my business I turned the corner and there it was. Standing on the side of the road lookin’ for a ride home.

Can you see it?  That skinny rusted floor lamp? Ahhh-isn't that sweet?

Can you see it? That skinny rusty floor lamp? That’s it!

Yep! I squealed my car to a halt for that baby!  The farm hands at that property watching me got a kick out of watching me stuff it into the trunk of my car. They must have just cleaned out the barn, dumping the rusted, cobweb covered lamp with other cast offs at the side of the road.

Do I care? Nope! I have no shame, people! I’m rescuing an antique from the side of the road that surely would be headed for the scrap yard. It’s not my fault they don’t know what they are looking at. I’d like to enlighten them but I don’t speak Spanish.

Oh well! Yuck it up, boys! Glad I could bring a smile to your face!

And down the road I go.

Once home I tucked it into my sewing room. I needed to contemplate a few things…..like where would I put it and what kind of shade do I use? Hmmmm.

Fast forward a year..maybe 2….I’m not sure. I’m home in the summer unemployed and inspired. I’m on a project finishing frenzy!

Up from the sewing room and onto the projecting porch. Let’s take a look.

Let's take it from the top. Hmm...swivel lamp head.

Let’s take it from the top. Hmm…swivel lamp head.

I'm wire brushing off some rust. Look at the lovely details! Could be from the 20's or 30's?

I’m wire brushing off some rust. Look at the lovely details! Could be from the 20’s or 30’s?

Lots of rust to clean.

Lots of rust to clean.

Scary old plug. That's gotta go.

Scary old plug. That’s gotta go.

Well this is gonna be fun!

I should inform you that I have a thing for lights/lamps. Once I found out I could just buy lamp wiring kits at Lowe’s and Home Depot-ha! I started creating and salvaging lamps with reckless abandon. I gave some away and sold one and kept some too. I just love it!

So now where to start….? Let’s take it apart!

I had a hard time intwisting the swivel head so I used this special spray. It’s like WD-40 only it’s for electrical stuff.

A must have for electrical stuff.

A must have for electrical stuff.

Here it is in pieces. The whole thing sunscreens-a plus for rewiring.

Here it is in pieces. The whole thing unscrews-a plus for rewiring.

I don’t know if you can see it. There was brass underneath the tarnish. I’m still going to paint over it. There’s no brass on the base. That thing is iron and heavy. You won’t find that today very often.

Rustoleum...love this stuff.

Rustoleum…love this stuff.

So let’s paint first and then rewire. A nice glossy white for this and no spray paint will do. This will give a nice thick coating that will coat that rust.

I actually used a small brush to get in all the crevices.

I actually used a small brush to get in all the crevices.

Look how much better that is! You can appreciate the details more.

Look how much better that is! You can appreciate the details more.

After the paint was dry, I put it back together and rewired it.

New wire ready to go.

New wire ready to go.

Another look at a pretty detail.

The stem screws together here. Such pretty little things.

The stem screws together here. Such pretty little things.

Ok now for a lampshade. I had some chenille from a bedspread I thought would be fun. It’s sweet and girlie. Perfect!

And a pretty pink bow to finish the look.

And a pretty pink bow to finish the look.

Ok let’s stand her on my stool box for a good look!

Oh soooo much better!

Oh soooo much better!

As you can see the dresser was being done at the same time. There’s time between coats of paint to bounce back and forth. Time management….I’m not patient and need something to keep me busy in between. Oh and what is this?

That's next on the list - that's what that is!

That’s next on the list – that’s what that is!

I’m not gonna paint the whole porch this summer but a patch job is certainly in order! Yikes!

Ok this is where my lovely floor lamp ended up.

Right here behind the wicker sofa so I can read at nite.

Right here behind the wicker sofa so I can read at nite.

Sweet!

Love it when things just come together. Nothing I do ever comes out “perfect”…actually that’s how I prefer it. Perfectly Imperfect!

2 thoughts on “Ooooh! Look what I found!

Leave a Reply

